Jack Morris, Alan Trammell elected to Baseball Hall of Fame by Modern Era committee


Jack Morris and Alan Trammell were elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame by the Modern Baseball Era Committee after falling short of induction to Cooperstown before.

Steve Garvey, Tommy John, Don Mattingly, Marvin Miller, Dale Murphy, Dave Parker, Ted Simmons and Luis Tiant were also on the ballot.

The Modern Baseball Era committee replaced the Veterans Committee. Hall of Fame players George Brett, Rod Carew, Dennis Eckersley, Don Sutton, Dave Winfield and Robin Yount were on the 16-person committee. Seventy-five percent (12 votes) were needed for election, the same percentage needed for induction by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

The selections of Morris and Trammell were announced by Jeff Idelson, president of the Baseball Hall of Fame.

Morris won 254 times in 18 seasons with the Detroit Tigers, Minnesota Twins, Toronto Blue Jays and Cleveland Indians. He pitched a 10-inning shutout in Game 7 of the 1991 World Series for Minnesota. He pitched for four World Series-winning teams.

Morris reached 67.7 percent on the BBWAA ballot before his eligibility expired.

Trammell was the Tigers’ shortstop from 1977-96, making six All-Star Games and winning four Gold Gloves and three Silver Slugger Awards.

The panel also included New York Mets general manager Sandy Alderson, former Toronto CEO Paul Beeston and three current team-controlling owners: Cincinnati Reds CEO Bob Castellini, St. Louis Cardinals CEO Bill DeWitt Jr. and Kansas City Royals chairman David Glass.

There were two media members: Bob Elliott, formerly of the Toronto Sun; and Jayson Stark, formerly of The Philadelphia Inquirer and ESPN. Steve Hirdt of the Elias Sports Bureau, Major League Baseball’s official statistician, also was on the panel.

The BBWAA annual vote on players will be announced Jan. 24. That 33-man ballot includes Chipper Jones, Jim Thome and Omar Vizquel among 19 first-time candidates and Trevor Hoffman, Vladimir Guerrero, Edgar Martinez, Roger Clemens are Barry Bonds among holdovers. Inductions are scheduled for July 29.

Information from The Associated Press was used in this report.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here