Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray wins Davey O’Brien Award as top quarterback


Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray won the Davey O’Brien Award as the nation’s top quarterback on Thursday night.

Murray, who plans to focus on baseball in the future, had a 96.0 quarterback rating, the highest in the Football Bowl Subdivision in at least the past 15 years, and was responsible for 51 touchdowns, tied with Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins for the most in FBS. He is on pace to become the first FBS starting quarterback to average at least 300 passing yards per game and 60 rushing yards per game.

He beat out Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa and Washington State’s Gardner Minshew II for the award, which kicked off the College Football Awards show in Atlanta.

Earlier in the day, the Walter Camp Award for best player went to Tagovailoa, while Murray won the Associated Press’ Player of the Year — setting up a showdown for Saturday night when those two players and Haskins contend for the Heisman Trophy.

The last five winners of the Walter Camp have gone on to win the Heisman, but only five Heisman winners have failed to win AP Player of the Year since the award started in 1998.

Murray’s Davey O’Brien marked the sixth time an Oklahoma QB claimed the honor, after Baker Mayfield — who won last year — Sam Bradford in 2008, Jason White in both 2003 and 2004 and Billy Sims in 1978. The five different quarterbacks snaps a tie with BYU for the most by any school.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here